Homemade Laundry Detergent: A Penny For a Load

A couple of months ago a friend raved about her homemade laundry detergent. “It’s safe for babies!” she claimed. “It gets the dirt and oil out of my husband’s work clothes!” But what really spoke to me was the cost. “It’s just a penny a load!” So I decided to try it. I bought the three necessary ingredients at my grocery store for a grand total of $7.60. And in about 30 minutes I had five gallons of the stuff. Two months later I’ve probably used less than 1/8th of it. It only takes 1/4 of a cup to wash a load so that means I made enough for 640 loads of laundry! I love not having to buy detergent. It definitely is saving me big bucks.

Liquid Laundry Detergent

My church, LifePoint, in Greenville started doing quarterly supply drives for an amazing ministry in our community called Miracle Hill. One of the things on their list of needs was powdered laundry detergent so I called them up and asked if they’d take homemade detergent. They said they would gladly accept it and also asked for the recipe. So last night several members of the LifePoint Missions Team got together and made laundry detergent.

Laundry Detergent

I spent about $40 on supplies and in an hour we made enough to wash 840 loads of laundry. According to my math that’s about 4 cents a load. I compared that to the cost of powdered Tide on Amazon which is 43 cents a load. That’s a 90% savings! The process is easy and we had a lot of fun with it. The hardest part is grating the bar of soap, but it’s actually a really good arm workout!

Laundry Detergent

 

The liquid version is even cheaper, but the powdered recipe is still a huge bargain. The only ingredients are:

  • 1   Fels-Naptha soap bar
  • 1  Cup – Arm & Hammer Super Washing Soda
  • ½  Cup Borax

My friend Tamara even uses Borax in her dishwasher and to wash her floors. She says it works great and it’s so much cheaper than other cleaning products. If you are interested in making your own here are the recipes:

Homemade Powdered Laundry Detergent

Homemade Liquid Laundry Detergent

1 Comment

Filed under Charity, Christianity, life, Money

One response to “Homemade Laundry Detergent: A Penny For a Load

  1. Stacy Hughey

    You can also use your food processor to grate the soap to make it even easier 😉

Leave a Reply

