Handmade Holidays: Fun With Yarn and Coffee Filters

I love making things by hand. I’m not necessarily that great at it in fact I can barely sew a straight line (my living room curtains prove that) but I still enjoy it. Recently I’ve put together some cute decorations for a Woodland Theme Baby Shower I hosted:

 

Baby Shower Table Decor

This was super easy. I borrowed some sawed off logs from my friends, collected lots of pine cones from a nearby empty lot and used aqua thread to add some color. I found those B-O-Y letters at Michael’s and wrapped them in thread. The plain glass vases are from my wedding.

 

Baby Shower Mantel Decor

 

I thought the mantel turned out cute too. For the last baby shower I hosted I made a bunch of those mini-trees which are basically sticks glued into a wooden base and then painted. I suspended some ribbon and yarn between them and printed out letters to spell B-A-B-Y. The onesies hanging up we ended up decorating for the new mom, Rachel. And of course Bruno had to fit in with the decorations:

 

Bruno ready for the Baby Shower!

 

Since I had some extra yarn leftover after the shower and a foam wreath I wasn’t using I decided to get to work.I liked the finished product because it’s a modern take on a Christmas wreath.

 

My New Christmas Wreath

 

I also used some gray fabric and straight pins to create a little bunch of flowers on the wreath bringing the total cost of this project to $0!

 

A Close-Up of the Flowers

 

On Black Friday we bought some skinny artificial Christmas trees at Old Time Pottery. I think the three foot tree was on sale for $4 and the four foot tree was $6. I didn’t want to decorate them with ornaments since I don’t have that many small ones so I made some garland. I just cut out circles from fabric scraps and– believe it or not– coffee filters. Then I sewed them in a line. Of course I made sure the garland coordinated with the yellow door.

 

My Bedroom Christmas Decorations

I’m planning a few other small projects and who knows, I may whip out some more coffee filter garland to use as free ribbon for decorating packages.

 

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Holidays, Home

2 responses to “Handmade Holidays: Fun With Yarn and Coffee Filters

  1. I love those letters wrapped in thread and bruno is ADORABLE 🙂

  2. The garland looks great! I may have to borrow the coffee filter idea.

Leave a Reply

