Celebrity Encounters Over the Years

A few years back I won a ticket to the Oscars. I had a front row seat for red carpet arrivals. I am probably one of the few people in the world who actually has a piece of the red carpet. That night I got about a dozen celebrity autographs and had brief conversations with stars like Ben Stiller, Owen Wilson, Alison Krauss, and Elijah Wood. I met lots of the stars of Lord of the Rings including Sean Astin, Billy Boyd and Dominic Monaghan. I got a wave from Will Smith and a bow from Robin Williams.

As I started thinking about it, I’ve had lots of celebrity encounters over the years. But I’ve never taken the time to write them down. I decided to take a few minutes to start my list since I can be a very forgetful person. So here it goes… in no particular order… my celebrity encounters.

News People
(Hey, I thought it was cool meeting these guys!)

Charlie Gibson and I

Kent Shocknek- Southern California’s longest running morning anchor and had cameo appearances in movies. I met him while interning at KNBC and we connected because he got his start at KCAU in Sioux City, my hometown.
Daryn Kagan- Former CNN anchor I met at the Oscars.
Kendis Gibson- Former CNN anchor I met at the Oscars, now anchor in San Diego
Charles Gibson- Former Good Morning America and World News anchor. I met him at the Billy Graham Library dedication and got my picture taken with him!
Steve Hartman- my idol and CBS reporter. I spent a lot of time with him when he was covering a story in Florida.
Kerry Sanders- NBC network reporter based in Florida. Got to talk to him on the phone once!
Oprah- I touched her twice when I went to a t

Us with Jim Cantore- Not Who You Want to See On Your Honeymoon!

aping of her show. I was the only one that day that got to touch her twice!
Jim Cantore- Weather channel star that was on our honeymoon flight to Belize to cover a hurricane. There’s a picture of us.
Katie Couric- Got a picture with her at the winter Olympics
Al Roker- Met several times at Today Show tapings.
Matt Lauer- Met a few times.

Actors
Robin Williams- Besides getting a bow from him at the Oscars I saw him at Letterman taping.
Cuba Gooding Jr- Shared an awkward moment with him at Mexicali, a restaurant near Hollywood.
John O’Hurley- Another actor I met at Mexicali.
Shannon Doherty- Saw her hiking in Hollywood.

Mona from Who's the Boss and I!

Bonnie Hunt- Got to interview her at Cars premier.
Cheech Marin- I’ve met him at several red carpet events.
John Ratzenberger- I’ve met Norm from Cheers at the Cars premier.
Jason Biggs- Star of American Pie. I interviewed him at Loser premier.
Mena Suvari- Interviewed at Loser premier.
Andy Dick- Same as above.
Jonathan Jackson- Interviewed for Teen People.
Ben Stein- Got a picture at ICRS.
Kevin Costner- Met and Interviewed several times. Was always a jerk to me.
Catherine Bell- JAG star I met at red carpet event in Greenville.

Comedians
George Lopez- Met him at a red carpet event and got him to leave a voicemail on my sister’s cell phone.
Cedric the Entertainer- Interviewed in St. Louis

I Paid $10 for this Pic

Dustin Diamond- I met Screech at a comedy club in Florida and paid $10 to get my picture with him. I think this was on my 24th birthday.

Musicians
James Blunt- Ran into him at the Atlanta airport. We were both going to London. Got a picture with him.
Brad Paisley- Got to interview him at the Cars Premier in Charlotte. I have a picture of myself interviewing him.
Leeland- Met at the Dove Awards in Nashville.
Pat Green- Got his autograph and a picture after a few different concerts.

Athletes
Richard Petty- Met at Cars premier
Dale Earnhardt Jr.- Met at Cars premier and got autograph. Also interviewed back in St. Louis.
Kristi Yamaguchi- I interviewed her live on TV and another male figure skater, but I can’t remember who that was!
Jackie Joyner-Kersee- Olympic athlete I interviewed.

Interviewing Brad Paisley at a Movie Premier

George Hincapie- Met and interviewed for WSPA piece.
Lance Armstrong- Interviewed in Greenville.
Authors
Alex and Steve Kendrick- They wrote Love Dare and Facing Giants. Got autographs at ICRS.
Karen Kingsbury- Bestselling Christian author I met at ICRS.
Gary Chapman- Bestselling author I met at ICRS, ended up interviewing his daughter Shelley.

Politicians etc.
George Stephanopoulos- Followed him around the Jefferson Jackson Day Dinner in Des Moines once. That was when he was the White House Communications Director I believe.
Rev. Jesse Jackson- Interviewed him multiple times.
Rev. Al Sharpton- Interviewed him while working in St. Louis
Steve Forbes- One of the many politicians I interviewed and met during the 2000 presidential election.
Alan Keyes

James Blunt Encounter at the Atlanta Airport

Orrin Hatch
Lamar Alexander
Ralph Nader
Bill Bradley- Nice guy that always called me Alicia or something like that.
Joe Lieberman- Saw in the DC airport
Bob Dole- Before I could vote I worked on his campaign. I got an autograph and a picture, but my mom cut part of his head off in the photo.
Tipper Gore- Interviewed and met. There’s a picture of me interviewing her somewhere.
Bill Clinton- Shared breathing space with him and the other living former presidents at the Billy Graham Library dedication.
George H.W. Bush- See above, also met at a press event in Florida.
Jimmy Carter- See above.
Billy Graham- Attended his library dedication.

I’m sure there are more, but at least now I have a list so I don’t have to worry about forgetting!

2 Comments

Filed under life, Politics

2 responses to “Celebrity Encounters Over the Years

  1. Dang girl, you’ve met everyone! You put me to shame! 🙂

  2. Pingback: The Traveling Journal Crew Meets Steve Carell - The Traveling Journal

Leave a Reply

