I’m Just Not Meant to Meet Jason Mraz

Jason Mraz is one of my favorite musicians. I love his laid back style, his soulful lyrics, his white boy raps. That’s why when I first started organizing the Greenville Twestival I went out on a limb. I sent his people an email:

Call it a coincidence, call it divine intervention, but Jason is performing in Charlotte on September 10 because a major storm forced him to reschedule a July concert date. Charlotte is just a short 90 minute drive from Greenville so we were hoping and praying that maybe, just maybe Jason could carve out some time in his schedule to join us for a charity concert.

Two days later I got this response:

Hi Alison,
Thank you for the inquiry.

As you may be aware, we receive many requests such as this. Unfortunately under the circumstances we can only dedicate our time to a certain few each year and have to say “no” to the others. We hope you understand.

Best of luck with your Charity Event!

I wasn’t that surprised, but you never know until you ask. I asked. He said no. I told my husband about my long shot request and the negative outcome. Life went on and so did Twestival planning. The event came together with a hot Greenville restaurant, The Lazy Goat, agreeing to serve as our venue.

“They said we can use the restaurant either Thursday September 10 from 5:30 to 7:30 or Saturday the 12 from 4 to 6,” I excitedly told my husband. We both decided Thursday would be best.

Ten hours later while brushing his teeth reality hit my husband like a camera flash in a pitch black room.

“Baby, what day is the Twestival?” he asked with panic.

“Thursday September 10,” I told him.

He froze.

“What?” I prodded.

“I didn’t want to tell you until our anniversary but I bought you tickets to the Jason Mraz concert that night. After you told me he was going to be in Charlotte I thought you’d love to go,” he said.

I would have loved to go. But word of the Twestival had already gone out. Plans were set and there was no way I could miss it. I was crushed. So was my husband. His big surprise was ruined. And my gift was snatched away before I even got to be happy about receiving it. After about ten minutes of mutual pouting we found a way to laugh it off. Surely there will be other Jason Mraz concerts in our area and even though I won’t get to enjoy his soulful lyrics and white boy raps this time around, I’ll be  having a great time at the Twestival.

Anybody want to buy our tickets to the Jason Mraz concert?

Leave a comment

Filed under Charity, Funny, Marriage

Leave a Reply

