$50 Home Improvement: Small Changes with Big Impact

We are slowly trying to eradicate these light fixtures from our house. They’re perfectly fine, just not our style. We think they look like boobs.

I Want to Know Who Designed the Boob Light?

I Want to Know Who Designed the Boob Light?

This weekend I replaced the boob light in my office with a semi-homemade drum shade fixture.I picked up the shade at the Pottery Barn outlet for $15 and got the rest of the supplies in my tool box and at Home Depot for about $5.

The New Drum Shade Fits Much Better

The New Drum Shade Fits Our Style

I love small wiring projects. I think I could have been an electrician.

Doesn't that Look Better?

Doesn't that Look Better?

Meanwhile my husband hung some gray lacquer picture frames in the hallway. We got them for just $9.97 at West Elm, regularly $34 each.Three for less than the price of one!

I Just Need Pictures to Fill Them

I Just Need Pictures to Fill Them

Rather than hanging them the normal way, we got a metal piece at Home Depot for about $5. I think its intended use has something to do with garage doors. Tim hung it using “L” hooks, creating a ledge for the frames to rest.

Our Creative Hanging Technique

Our Creative Hanging Technique

In all we spent about $50 and an hour of our time improving two areas of our home. Now onto the other 437 things on our to-do list!

1 Comment

Filed under Home, life

One response to “$50 Home Improvement: Small Changes with Big Impact

  1. Those are awesome home improvement projects! Nice work! I wish I knew how to do simple wiring projects…I’m very jealous!

Leave a Reply

