Backyard Summer Baby Shower

My lovely neighbors are having their first baby and this weekend I had the honor of throwing them a baby shower. Honestly though, I couldn’t have pulled it off without my awesome husband. He helped me make the favors, get the yard ready and dry off all the tables and chairs after it poured just before guests were set to arrive.

This spring we totally landscaped our yard, front and back. We layed sod, put down a path and filled in flower beds. Since we’d gone to all that work we thought the backyard would be the best place to hold this baby bash. Here are some of the highlights.

The Invitations

The Invitations

I found the perfect invites on a really cute website. But they were pricey. So my friend David designed these, which I think are even cuter than the expensive ones. He did it for free and I got them printed locally. Total cost was less than $15.

The Favors

The Favors

These are the favors. I took seed packets from Walgreens and dolled them up using wax paper envelopes, wrapping paper and ribbon. Sadly I forgot to hand them out.

The Backyard Set-up

The Backyard Set-up

Some of the brown table cloths were used in our wedding. The mom-to-be is using chocolate brown in the nursery so it worked out perfectly. The rest of the baby shower color palletet was light blue and goldenrod yellow.

Baby Shower Tables

Baby Shower Tables

Each table was decorated with two jewelry trees. I found the idea on this blog and thought it was super cute. But instead of using them to hold necklaces I used them as centerpieces. The goldenrod yellow table runners are made from wrapping paper. I wanted to use fabric, but couldn’t ever find what I was looking for.

Baby Shower Flowers

Baby Shower Flowers

Those vintage polka dot glasses came from my kitchen cupboard. They worked perfectly to hold the little bouquets of white and yellow flowers that I picked up at Costco.The wrapping paper with the blue print was used for the head table.

Baby Shower Game, Help Name the Baby

Baby Shower Game, Help Name the Baby

Using a ten-pack of bibs I picked up at Target for $2.50, I decorated a corner of the yard and made a game at the same time. The bibs say the words “Girl or boy?” Guests were asked to fill out a ballot guessing whether Jenna was having a girl or a boy and to help her name the baby. Jenna picked a winning boy name and a winning girl name and each person got a prize.

The Baby Food Challenge

The Baby Food Challenge

We also played the Baby Food Challenge. Have you tasted baby food? Yuck! The winner got a nice prize, though.

Baby Shower Scrapbook

Baby Shower Scrapbook

I also made a mini-baby shower scrapbook for Jenna. Inside I put one of the invites and a few other momentos from the party. We also listed her gifts in this book so she can reference it when writing thank you notes.

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

The food was kept simple. I made (with my husband’s help) slider-sized burgers, potato salad, pasta salad, fruit skewers and bunch of desserts. A couple of other sweet ladies brought some food as well.

A Baby Shower By Candlelight

A Baby Shower By Candlelight

After the sun went down we lit a bunch of candles and enjoyed the white lights my husband had put up around the base of several tree trunks. I think it turned out to be a relaxing and fun backyard summer baby shower.

Jenna Picking Her Favorite Names by Candlelight

Jenna Picking Her Favorite Names by Candlelight

8 Comments

Filed under Food, Friends, Home, life

8 responses to “Backyard Summer Baby Shower

  1. That all looks so nice! Great job! I think it’s funny you made all those favors and forgot to give them out. I could totally see myself doing the same thing! Doesn’t look like it mattered much, though. The entire thing looks like it was lovely!

  2. The baby food challenge? Love the idea of the competition (but not necessarily competing in it)! I also liked the look of those invites.

    Well done! You’ve lucky neighbors.

  3. Tim

    Makes me want to have another child. NOT!!! This is one cool baby shower, fo sho.

  4. Looks like it turned out real nicely. Your backyard is huge! And I’m all for any invites or announcements that you make yourself rather than the web ones. They always come out better, imo.

  5. Wow! The whole event looks amazing. Definitely love the chocolate, blue & yellow, a brilliant idea… will have to suggest something along those lines when Americo & I start a family.

    Did the Mom to be enjoy her day?

  6. Jennie

    You guys are still awesome at throwing parties. Seriously, Ali, you should do this as a business when you aren’t writing!

  7. You did a great job and had a lovely shower for your neighbors. The patio and decorations are beautiful. I think it looked like all fun and games.

Leave a Reply

