I Think I Saw Governor Sanford Running in Greenville

Was Governor Mark Sanford in Greenville?

Was Governor Mark Sanford in Greenville?

It was one of those moments you don’t think much about at the time. We were driving home from Target Sunday evening and as we traveled down Augusta Road we approached a runner. Maybe the man saw that I was staring at him because he waved at us.

“That looked like Governor Sanford!” I exclaimed to my husband. “What he would be doing here?”

“Wonder why he waved at us,” my husband laughed. “It must be the Audi.”

We recently became the owners of a 1998 Audi A6 Quattro with 160,000 miles on it. We always joke about being posh now that we have an Audi because in actuality it’s the cheapest car either of us have owned in our whole lives. We continued joking about our car and didn’t think much of the Sanford siting, until today.

Apparently Governor Sanford was missing for four days. He claims he was hiking on the Appalachian Trail, but other people say they saw him at the Atlanta airport by himself. His staff admits it’s not uncommon for him to disappear for a few days after a busy legislative session, but now people are questioning whether the Governor should ever be allowed to skip town without his security detail.

My Sanford spotting was just blocks away from where the late Governor Carroll A. Campbell lived for many years of his life and not far from where state Senator Dave Thomas grew up so it’s no stranger to politicians. But did I really see the Governor? Who knows. Keep in mind that I once swore I saw Saddam Hussein working on a road crew in Fort Myers, Florida. I was so convinced it was him I drove by three times to get a better look. I didn’t make my husband turn around to see if this runner really was my Governor. No matter what he was up to, I just hope the Governor had a good, relaxing time.

Image courtesy of Montwerx

4 Comments

Filed under Funny, life, Observations, Politics

4 responses to “I Think I Saw Governor Sanford Running in Greenville

  1. This morning I heard he was on a trip to South America. Strange!

    • Ali

      Yes, can you imagine heading out to Buenos Aires and not telling your spouse? Sounds like a fun place to visit, though!

  2. Well, I wouldn’t worry too much unless you pass by a construction worker that you’re sure is Elvis.

  3. LOL, cute story. You know a Florida road crew might have been a better hideout.

Leave a Reply

