New York City Girl At Heart

Even though I grew up in Iowa and my first real job was detasseling corn, I think I was destined for the big city. I love everything about it, except maybe when someone hits in the head with their cello on the subway which happened to me twice. We rented this super cute apartment in the Upper West Side, three blocks from Central Park and one block from these little yummies at Magnolia Bakery.

I tried their muffins, cupcakes, cheesecake and bars. Yum, yum, yum and yum!

I tried their muffins, cupcakes, cheesecake and bars. Yum, yum, yum and yum!

There were so many fun moments. Laughing our butts off at Robin Wiliams during our Letterman taping, tap dancing down Central Park West on the eve of my 30th, eating desserts that look like sculptures and running all the way from the Upper West Side to the Brooklyn Bridge. A cab driver told us that was 15 miles which is amazing since we did it in less than an hour. We thought it was more like five miles.

This Gorgeous Bride was Dancing on the Brooklyn Bridge When We Got There

This Gorgeous Bride was Dancing on the Brooklyn Bridge When We Got There

My actual 30th birthday was spent partly on a rowboat in Central Park, partly at a fancy restaurant on Park Avenue, partly on a water taxi in the Harlem River, partly in a circus tent and completely in love.

Looks like I got a hair cut in this shot but I didn't

Looks like I got a hair cut in this shot but I didn't

I admit I even cried a little when we had to leave. There’s just something about the big city that has my heart. But as for my 30th birthday? It rocked.

How Many Other 30-year-olds Have This Picture?

How Many Other 30-year-olds Have This Picture?

1 Comment

Filed under Family, Food, Getaways, life, Marriage

One response to “New York City Girl At Heart

Leave a Reply

