Miss California Carrie Prejean: You Go Girl!!

Miss California Carrie Prejean is under attack today after responding truthfully to a question posed by Miss America judge Perez Hilton. Hilton asked,Vermont recently became the fourth state to legalize same-sex marriage. Do you think every state should follow suit? Why or why not?” While Miss California’s answer was a slightly nervous response her opinion was clear: she believes marriage should be between a man and a woman.

The issue I have is with how Miss California Carrie Prejean is being attacked for voicing her opinion. She was respectful and admitted she didn’t want to offend anyone with her answer. Perez Hilton responded by calling her several names in a violent verbal attack through his website.

What’s REALLY maddening is the response from Keith Lewis, Miss California USA/Teen USA Executive Director. He said:

“As co-executive director of Miss CA USA and one of the leaders of the Miss CA, I am personally saddened and hurt that Miss CA USA 2009 believes marriage rights belong only to a man and a woman. Although I believe all religions should be able to ordain what unions they see fit, I do not believe our government should be able to discriminate against anyone. Religious beliefs have no place in politics in the Miss CA family .”

This is hypocrisy defined. He’s saying religious beliefs have no place, but his are OK? This makes no sense! A pageant with the word “America” in the title should be based on what America was built on: freedom!

Do I agree with gay marriage? No. Do I think ANYONE whether they agree or disagree with it should be ridiculed, attacked and persecuted? NO WAY. While I believe the Bible is clear that marriage is between a man and a woman the Bible is also clear that we are not supposed to judge others, just love them.

So Miss California, Carrie Prejean: You go girl! I’m behind you and so should anyone who believes strongly in FREE SPEECH!

10 Comments

Filed under Christianity, life, Marriage, Observations

10 responses to “Miss California Carrie Prejean: You Go Girl!!

  1. Alanna

    I saw the clip earlier on the “News” and couldn’t believe how they were putting her down, as well. VERY well said, Ali!

  2. Yeppers!

    Great points! Hope you have a chance to view my article on the subject matter. Thanks for posting as well!

    USA Beauty Pageant Officials, Media Intolerant of Traditional Marriage View

    http://www.examiner.com/x-7814-LA-Church–State-Examiner~y2009m4d20-USA-Beauty-Pageant-Officials-Media-Intolerant-of-Traditional-Marriage-View

  3. James

    The Bible also says…

    * DEUTERONOMY 22:13-21
    If it is discovered that a bride is not a virgin, the Bible demands that she be executed by stoning immediately.

    * DEUTERONOMY 22:22
    If a married person has sex with someone else’s husband or wife, the Bible commands that both adulterers be stoned to death.

    * MARK 10:1-12
    Divorce is strictly forbidden in both Testaments, as is remarriage of anyone who has been divorced.

    * LEVITICUS 18:19
    The Bible forbids a married couple from having sexual intercourse during a woman’s period. If they disobey, both shall be executed.

    * MARK 12:18-27
    If a man dies childless, his widow is ordered by biblical law to have intercourse with each of his brothers in turn until she bears her deceased husband a male heir.

    * DEUTERONOMY 25:11-12
    If a man gets into a fight with another man and his wife seeks to rescue her husband by grabbing the enemy’s genitals, her hand shall be cut off and no pity shall be shown her.

    My partner and I have been together for 7 years yet we are not allowed to share the same health insurance, we are not allowed to file joint tax returns, among hundreds or other things. Call it marriage, call it civil union, call it a contract, I don’t care, but in America I SHOULD be able to be free to choose who I share my life with and have the same rights given to any other couple.

    I love you Ali but I don’t agree with you on this one. Separation of Church and State was put in place for a reason.

    • Ali

      James– I do see your point, but how does a beauty pageant fall under separation of church and state? By ridiculing Carrie aren’t we saying that it’s not OK to share your viewpoint? She was asked a question, she answered it and now she’s being attacked for it.

      As for the Bible references, I believe when Jesus came He wiped out the idea that we have to adhere to hundreds of ceremonial rules by giving us a radically new understanding of God’s true intent which is that we are to love all people and live by spiritual truth instead of being rule by law.

      Romans 10:4
      4 Christ is the end of the law so that there may be righteousness for everyone who believes.

      Galatians 3:23–25
      23 Before this faith came, we were held prisoners by the law, locked up until faith should be revealed. 24 So the law was put in charge to lead us to Christ that we might be justified by faith. 25 Now that faith has come, we are no longer under the supervision of the law.

      I believe in the words of Matthew 22:37-39, which is why I said I will never discriminate or judge anyone– that’s not my job! My job is just to love them. I think that’s pretty cool. So I may not be out there petitioning lawmakers with you, but I do love you! 🙂

      Matthew 22:37–39
      37 Jesus replied: “ ‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ 38 This is the first and greatest commandment. 39 And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’

  4. Shelly

    I like to debate…so here goes…
    I agree that Perez Hilton’s personal comments were unwarranted/offensive/etc. Anyone’s personal comments actually. I applaud Carrie Prejean for saying what she really believes; however, it may have been the wrong platform to NOT be politically correct. She was running for Miss America…I agree with Perez that her answer to the question excluded many people in America that she would be representing. Overall, I think that was a really tough question and I wonder if she practiced for a questions on the topic of gay marriage, gay rights, etc. The minute I found out Perez Hilton was going to be a judge I would have practiced those types of questions. It appeared that she was caught of guard which was really shocking to me.
    I think she could have stated her beliefs as well acknowledge separation of church and state…church marriages can be defined as one thing, for different religions, and federal marriages, civil unions, defined as another for legal purposes.
    I’m sure Carrie Prejean didn’t mean to offend anyone but it just came out wrong…and you can totally tell she was crazy nervous.
    Allison-I don’t understand how the Co-executive director was stating his religious views…I took it as he was stating his political views.
    James-Thanks for the verses from the Bible. Is there a book or website that separates versus inter categories?
    Anyone seen Religulous??? I would love to read some opinions on that documentary!
    Peace

    • Ali

      Hey Shelly! Thanks for joining in. The point I was trying to make with the Co-exec. director’s response is, why is it considered a religious viewpoint (and thus NOT OK to communicate) to say you think marriage is between a man and a woman, but a political viewpoint (and thus perfectly acceptable to communicate) to agree with gay marriage? If the pageant would allow someone to say they agree with gay marriage, then they should absolutely allow someone to say they don’t.

      James– it looks like we agree on what a jerk Perez is! 🙂

  5. James

    I was more making my case for same-sex rights. I think she had every right to answer the question how she choose and the judges had every right to score how they did. I DO NOT agree w/ Perez Hilton calling her a B*&$% on his blog and I think that just shows he never should have been a judge in the first place. I think everyone is entitled to their opinion, my job is to enlighten and educate people that gays are humans to0 and that for most of us it is about more than a certificate or the title of marriage. It is about gays being being able to share the same rights that every other over-taxed person in America has… at least that is what it is about for me.

    🙂

  6. Shelly

    Allison-You’re right…I was assuming that the reason someone agrees with marriage being defined as between a man and a woman would only be for religious reasons, which is not always the case.
    Maybe both politics and religion should not be part of Miss USA and they should say what they really think…it would make it a lot easier to pick the woman who best represents what Miss USA stands for.
    Whatever her viewpoint is, she should be able to say it and not be ridiculed for it. I have re-thought about my comment about Miss USA is a platform to be politically correct and disagree with what I said before…I really don’t like political correctness…just say what you actually think and feel so we can talk about it.
    Overall, if I was a judge, I would have given her a lower score for her answer. I don’t think it was a complete answer and I think it does not go along with what Miss USA is supposed to represent. Many news stations are comparing it to what President Obama during the campaign. They are playing the part when he says “I believe a marriage should be between a man and a woman,” and leaving out the rest of his answer dealing with civil unions and everyone having the same legal rights. That is the difference for me.

  7. Shelly

    I think the question she was given falls under the topic of separation of church and state because that is one of the arguments for gay marriage for legal rights. Just saying “I think a marriage should be defined between a man and a woman” is not a complete answer for me. As far as I know, there are two main sections for the gay marriage debate: religious reasons and legal reasons.
    I don’t think Perez is a jerk…I think he is a man who is infuriated by injustice and took it too a personal level…which was inappropriate.
    WHO WON anyway?

  8. Shelly

    “God’s true intent which is that we are to love all people and live by spiritual truth instead of being rule by law.”
    Isn’t this the opposite of the reason the four fathers came to this country and put a democracy into place? They set up it all up so people could be free to practice whatever religion, if any…right? If we actually accomplished this, gay’s could marry and Carrie could say she does not agree with it.
    the end

Leave a Reply

