Dear Panera Bread, Do You Check Expiration Dates?

In a recent blog I wrote about an experience my husband and I had at Panera Bread. Long story short, just as he polished off his sun-dried tomato cream cheese I noticed the expiration date on the tiny tub had long since passed. After posting the blog I heard from several other people who experienced similar Panera expiration date discoveries. So I decided to write a letter to Panera. Here is my letter and the company’s response. I’m still formulating my next move.

Hello,
Recently my husband and I were eating at Panera, one
of our favorite restaurants. My husband had just
finished his Asiago bagel and Sun-dried Tomato cream
cheese when I noticed the expiration date on his cream
cheese. The date read 1/22/08. The problem was, that
the current date was 2/10/08. That's almost three
weeks past the expiration date. The manager quickly
apologized, refunded our money and was incredibly
polite. In fact, because he handled the situation so
well I wasn't going to contact you. But I wrote a
blog about the experience and have since heard from several people who have had
similar experiences, many of whom I have never met. I
wanted to draw your attention to the fact that there
may be a problem with expired cream cheese regularly
being served at your restaurants. Thank you for
taking the time to read this e-mail. I trust that you
will respond accordingly.
Alison

Dear Allison, (Notice my name is incorrectly spelled.)
Thank you for taking the time to contact Panera Bread. We sincerely
apologize that you were served expired cream cheese at our Greenville, SC
bakery-café (#911). I have forwarded your comments to the bakery-café
management and our Quality Assurance group for review and follow-up.
These isolated incidents can happen when you serve more than a million
customers each week at nearly 1200 locations. We have had no indication
from customers that expired cream cheese is being "regularly served" at
our bakery-cafes, however.

Thank you again for contacting us. We appreciate your business and
value your comments.
Sincerely,
Stella
Customer Comment Coordinator

2 Comments

Filed under Food, Funny, life, Observations

2 responses to “Dear Panera Bread, Do You Check Expiration Dates?

  1. lawalker

    whatever. i’ll sign a petition if you want. bleh.

  2. also…Panera’s cheese/brocolli soup and french onion soup many sound vegetarian, but they’re not. I’m not vegetarian but I know lots of peeps who are and order those soups, thinking they don’t have meat products in them.

Leave a Reply

