The Lowry’s Have Upgraded

Let me take you back to February 2001. I had just graduated from college and had yet to find a full-time reporting gig. I figured since I was jobless I may as well do something interesting with my time. So I entered a contest to win a Pontiac Aztec. In order to come out the champion I had to live in that Pontiac Aztec for seven days straight. We got out for a few minutes each hour to run to the bathroom or do media interviews, but other than that it was a whole lot of sitting. The final winner came down to a vote of the community and unfortunately my competitor had a super nice boss that purchased 700 Sioux City Journals just to cut out the ballets and sway the vote. So I came in second. I didn’t win the car. I won this:

old-tv.jpg So rather than drive home a new car, I carried home my 26 inch tube TV. I’ve been using it ever since. It moved from Iowa to Florida and then to South Carolina bringing me countless hours of Desperate Housewives, Dog the Bounty Hunter, and local news. Well today Tim and I upgraded.

We’ve been looking for a new TV for quite a while. We went to Target today to get new bed pillows (that’s a whole other story!) and ended up meandering through the electronics department. We found a 37 inch Magnavox on sale for $648. That’s $250 off the regular price. But on top of that we decided to apply for the Target credit card to get the extra 10% discount. We also had $125 in Christmas gift cards we wanted to use towards the purchase.

But when the cashier rang up the TV and I applied for the card it went directly on the card and completed the sale without letting us use the gift cards. We had to take our new purchase to customer service where we told them we would rather just return the TV, buy it back and use the gift cards instead of the 10% off. (does this sound complicated?) Anyway, long story short we returned the TV, bought it back, ended up with a $0 balance on the new credit card but still got to use the 10% off PLUS our gift cards. So the grand total came to $493.16 with tax! Yes, we got an $899TV for nearly half the price!

tv-new.jpgAlthough the new TV wasn’t free like the last one, it did take a lot less time to get it home. And nothing makes me feel more like a winner than snagging a good deal.

1 Comment

Filed under Money, Shopping, Uncategorized

One response to “The Lowry’s Have Upgraded

  1. lawalker

    oohh i’m super excited for yall. i LOVE a good deal…

Leave a Reply

