The Eve of the South Carolina Primary

A lot of people don’t vote because they think they can’t make a difference.  I’ve never felt that way.  This is how I see voting: because there are so many people in the US that think that their votes don’t matter that just makes mine more powerful.  The fewer the people that vote the more my ballet is worth.  This is my first presidential election in South Carolina.  During the last election I purposefully waited to change my registration so that I could vote absentee in Florida where I felt my vote would be the most powerful.  (Maybe you remember the Bush/Gore election that came down to just a few dozen Florida votes.)

I’m excited and nervous.  Tomorrow is the South Carolina primary.  If you’ve read my past blogs you know who I’m voting for: Huckabee.  At noon today he’ll be speaking at a rally less than a mile from my house.  That’s one of the reason’s the presidential election fires me up.  It’s not something that happens in DC or in big cities or behind closed doors.  It’s in our community.  It’s in our neighborhood.  It’s up the street.

huckabee1.jpg
Growing up in Iowa gives you amazing chances to meet the candidates face-to-face.  You can shake their hand and ask them questions.  I remember being 16, too young to vote, but completely enthralled by politics.  My mom took me to a Bob Dole rally.  I got my picture taken with him (she cut part of Bob’s head off in the photo) and got his autograph on a campaign sign.  I even signed up to volunteer for his campaign.  They gave me a phone and a list of Republicans to call.  Although that phone bank experience was mild torture I truly felt a part of something bigger.  And I guess that’s how I feel when I vote.

I once went to hear Gloria Steinem speak and something she said will always stick with me.   “Voting is not the most you can do.  But it is the least.”  But hey, if you want to believe that your vote doesn’t matter that’s fine.  It just means that mine matters more.

1 Comment

Filed under Observations, Politics

One response to “The Eve of the South Carolina Primary

  1. This was my first time ever voting! I’m sort of embarassed that I waited until I was 23 to vote, but I’m very glad that I finally did.

Leave a Reply

