2007- What a Year

Every year I take a few minutes to look back on the past 12 months and reflect on the highlights. There are usually quite a few, but 2007 may have topped them all.

I should have known that it would be a crazy year when our New Year’s Eve party turned into a frantic effort to stop the coffee shop we rented out from flooding. All of the guests ditched their high heels, grabbing mops, a wet vac and rags to soak up the water that came rushing into the basement shop. We rang in 2007 soaked, but happy.

The year continued with a trip to Seattle in January. Tim and I flew out to visit my sister Stephanie and her boyfriend. Stephanie had just accepted a new job at the Eddie Bauer world headquarters. We drove up to Canada (Tim nearly got detained at the border) and spent an amazing couple of days at Whistler. I cried my eyes out on the slopes with a snowboard strapped to my feet, wondering if I could make it down the mountain alive. But all in all it was a good trip.

snowboarder.jpg

In March I experience one of the best days of my life: engagement day. I won’t go into all of the details now, but it was one of the most special moments I will probably ever experience. I remember every detail, every second of that wonderful day.

my-fiance-2.jpg

Last spring I received my first journalism award. I got first place from the South Carolina Associated Press for environmental reporting. It was a piece I did on the Reedy River which runs through downtown Greenville. Tim came to the awards ceremony with me in Myrtle Beach.

March through September were marked with lots of wedding planning, which was all very fun. We also managed to squeeze in some road trips. We spent Easter in Florida with his family. (I gave them their very first Peeps!)

peeps.jpg
Tim and I both were selected to be seat-fillers at the GMA Dove Awards in April. A few of our friends joined us for the trip to Nashville and it was one big adventure. (My dress fell apart just before showtime.)

the-group-at-the-doves.jpg

In May I went to my first polo match which was very exciting. I also celebrated my 28th birthday in May with a scavenger hunt in downtown Greenville with a big group of friends.

In June, I experienced one of the best days of my career. I covered the dedication of the Billy Graham Library and was able to stand just feet away from three former Presidents and Billy Graham himself. I also got my picture taken with Charlie Gibson and did my live shots right next to him.

bg-me-and-charlie.jpg

In mid-June, Tim and I went to my hometown in Iowa for my ten year reunion and to run a half marathon. The marathon was a success and the reunion was a blast.

finish-line.jpg

Although the summer was spent finalizing lots of wedding plans, we did manage a couple of trips to the beach.

hott-girls.jpg

In August there was a lingerie shower, a wedding shower and lots of fun wedding stuff. Then of course on September 2, 2007, the best day yet.

copy-2-of-img_7325.jpg

After the wedding fun there was the 12-day honeymoon in Belize and Guatemala, which was full of too many adventures to list. We spent much of the fall working on the house, redoing our bedroom, and enjoying the life of newlyweds. There were a few furniture-buying trips to Atlanta and a nice weekend in the mountains with friends.

pb100664.jpg
Our first big holiday together was Thanksgiving which we spent on the road to DC and NYC. The Big Apple can be an incredibly romantic place for newlyweds during the holidays.

dc.jpg

And that brings us to December. I spent the month working on several writing deadlines and organizing our work with Reedy Place. Then we spent our first Christmas together in Seattle with my family. And just like that 2007 was over.

It wasn’t all good stuff though. Dog the Bounty Hunter got cancelled. Bruno was diagnosed with diabetes. And the awesome scooter was stolen. But I’d say 2007 will go down as one of the best years of my life. Mostly because I married the man of my dreams.

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, Friends, Getaways, Marriage, Observations

Leave a Reply

