My New Name

With marriage comes lots of new things- including a name.  To be honest, I really liked my old last name.  For those of you who aren’t familiar with it, my maiden name is “Storm.”  It was easy to spell, easy to say, and easy to remember.  Plus it was unique.  People never believed it was my real last name, but it was.  Until I got married.

Now don’t get me wrong, I love my new last name.  It comes with an amazing family and I think my new name has a nice ring to it.  But yesterday I discovered one slight downfall.  Let me go back to earlier this week when my cell phone rang.  It was my hair salon- the same shop I’ve been going for three years to get my hair cut.  “We are calling to remind you of your appointment with Bryan tomorrow,” the receptionist said.  “Really?  I didn’t realize I had one!”  I told her.  But I figured I must have made it ages ago since Bryan books up quickly.  Plus I took it as a sign that I needed a trim.

So yesterday I showed up at the salon, grabbed a seat in the lounge and waited.  Bryan, my stylist, walked over, sat down in between me and another girl and announced, “There was a little mix up.  You see, you two have the same name.”  He pointed the girl on his other side.  Not only is there another girl with my same name in my town, but she gets her hair cut at the same place by the same man as me!  And she’s about my age!

It all worked out fine.  Both Alison’s left the salon with fresh cuts.  But before my name twin left I made sure to tell her I had an appointment next week with Shannon to get my hair colored.  “So if they call you,” I said, “you’ll know it’s me they’re looking for.”

4 Comments

Filed under Funny, Uncategorized

4 responses to “My New Name

  1. Great article, and Blog! I found you doing some research and looking for some very good blogs that are dealing with relationships and marriage, but especially all the aspects of divorce… Because, I believe that it has and will always be a factor of communication that is the key to any good relationship and that the lack of it, is where the trouble starts for every marriage… Keep talking and keep up the good work on all of our behalf’s. Thank you, Howard M.

  2. I think about that too. I love my rather unusual last name (even if most people cannot pronounce it properly!) Love your blog! 🙂

  3. p.s. i’ve linked to you. hope that’s okay! 🙂

  4. Pingback: My Name Twin « The Honeymoon Phase

Leave a Reply

