An Awesome Thing About Marriage

There are so many things I love about Christmas (Celebrating Jesus’ birthday, giving gifts, sugar cookies and putting up decorations.)  There are some things I don’t like about Christmas. (Seeing Christmas decor in October, overwhelming consumerism, fruit cake and taking down the decorations.)  And then there are some traditions that I have a love-hate relationship with.  One of those is Christmas cards.  I love the idea of a hand-written note with a personal message that spreads love and friendship.  But actually sitting down to write those notes takes time, a good pen and a strong hand.

I managed to talk Tim into helping me write out the Christmas cards this year.  I think it was the fact that I suggested we do it at Starbucks.  The cool thing (or at least one of the cool things) about my husband is that he’s not the type to just sign his name on every card and leave the note writing to me.  He actually wrote out about half the cards and even though I’m supposed to be the writer in this marriage, Tim’s notes were often funny and always personal.  I guess I discovered another awesome thing about marriage- it cuts Christmas card writing in half.

1 Comment

Filed under Holidays, Writing

One response to “An Awesome Thing About Marriage

  1. Jennie

    Tim? Funny? Huh. 🙂
    I agree with you about handwritten cards. There is nothing worse than getting a card with just a signature on it; I’d rather just have the $2 for the card! But a personal card for Christmas can be better than a gift.
    Another thing I hate at Christmas is when people complain about how they have so much shopping to do still, or when all they connect with Christmas is the stress of shopping. Finding gifts for people is fun! And it shouldn’t be the focus of Christmas anyway!
    I’m off my soapbox now. 🙂 I like your blog.

Leave a Reply

