Oh my gosh, yum!

The hubby and I drove up to Saluda, North Carolina to celebrate our three monthiversary. I had never been to the little town, but Tim had. It’s a curvy 45-minute drive from Greenville through the mountains. The town’s little Main Street is like a snap shot of history.

saluda.jpg

A train track runs through the town….

saluda-train.jpg

and right in the center of it all is a little cafe called Saluda Grade. It was the only thing open on a Sunday afternoon. (That’s typical for the south.) I ordered the Crazy Squirrel Salad and ate every last leaf. I asked if they sold the salad dressing and sadly our waitress said no. But she had the chef write down the recipe for me.

So tonight Tim and I made our own Crazy Squirrel salad from Saluda Grade. Here’s all there is to it:

Dressing

1 cup of Balsamic Vinaigrette

2 cups of Olive Oil

1/2 cup of honey

pinch of Thyme

Take your favorite lettuce, top it with walnuts, avocado, cranberries, goat cheese and the homemade dressing. We added grilled chicken for some protein and oh my gosh, YUM!

1 Comment

Filed under Food, Getaways, Uncategorized

One response to “Oh my gosh, yum!

  1. I adore Saluda, NC!It’s such a cute little town. Nice blog too, I like your writing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

