2012: A Life Changing Year

It’s hard to believe that almost exactly a year ago we found out that Sammy would be joining our world. Looking back, 2012 had some fun pre-Sammy highlights: ringing in the New Year with my family in Seattle, a tour of Dave Ramsey’s headquarters during an awesome trip to Nashville, a beautiful excursion in Ireland that included two nights in a Ritz Carlton suite, and months of preparation for the arrival of our little man. But my favorite part of 2012 were the final 17 weeks, starting with this moment:

Baby's First Photo

Baby’s First Photo

The day after Sam was born doctors told us there were some things wrong with him. As his mom, I cried quite a bit those first couple of weeks because I just wanted him to be healthy. I spent more time in doctors’ offices since Sam’s arrival than my entire 33 years. He had just about every part of his body scanned and poked, but thankfully he’s growing and developing perfectly. Every Friday at 10:07 am my iPhone beeps letting me know that my son is another week older. I spend a few minutes reflecting on this wonderful and perfect gift I’ve been given.

week 1

Every week we take a photo of Sammy in his crib with a clipboard declaring his age. It’s amazing to see how much he’s grown.

week 5For the first six weeks of his life he wore a Pavlik Harness, which you can see in his week 5 photo. He had to wear it 24 hours a day so correct his hip, which wasn’t securely in socket. This meant no baths, no pants and no kissing his sweet little toes. I remember how glorious it felt when they took his harness off for a few minutes at Shriner’s hospital and I was able to hold him without any straps or Velcro in the way.

week 10By week 10 doctors switched him to a Rhino Cruiser which he only wears at night. Doesn’t he look good in pants?

week 15It’s been amazing to watch him learn and change. He loves to smile and see other people smile. He’s figuring out how his hands work and seems to have a growing interest in his feet. He really only fusses when he’s sleepy or tired. Otherwise he’s a happy baby who has brought so much joy to our lives. I’m not really sure how I lived so many years without him but I’m incredibly thankful to start 2013 with little Sam in my life.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, life

Leave a Reply

